The Tree Profile Series: The Red Oak

The Tree Profile Series: The Red Oak

Over the next few months, watch out for the Tree Profile Series! This is our fourth in the series: looking at the mighty Red Oak. The Red Oak is also often referred to as the Northern Red Oak or the Grey oak. It is native to eastern North America but is all over the...
Making it count for forests in Stendal

Making it count for forests in Stendal

Today, eight months into the GFGF programme, we are pleased to report that through our GFGF programme, Mercer Holz has supplied participating forest owners in Germany with more than tens of thousands of trees. Recently, we sat down with Ingo Matthias, the forester of...
The Tree Profile Series: The European Beech

The Tree Profile Series: The European Beech

Over the next few months, watch out for the Tree Profile Series! This time, we’re looking at the European beech for our second in the series. The European Beech is also known as the common beech and it is one of the most important deciduous trees in Europe. Its...
The Tree Profile Series: Douglas Fir

The Tree Profile Series: Douglas Fir

Over the next few months, watch out for the Tree Profile Series! For our first in these series, let’s have a look at the Douglas Fir. The Douglas fir is a softwood tree native to the continental US. Sometimes referred to as the ‘Douglas fir’, it actually is not a true...

Baum-Steckbrief: Roteiche

Baum-Steckbrief: Roteiche

Achten Sie in den nächsten Monaten auf unsere Baum-Steckbriefe! In unserem vierten Teil der Serie widmen wir uns der Roteiche. Die Roteiche ist im östlichen Nordamerika beheimatet, kommt aber auf dem ganzen Kontinent vor und ist dort eine der bedeutendsten...
Neue Bäume für den Wald im Landkreis Stendal

Neue Bäume für den Wald im Landkreis Stendal

Heute, acht Monate nach Beginn des Programms Unsere Wälder gestalten – Zukunft schaffen, freuen wir uns, berichten zu können, dass Mercer Holz im Rahmen des Programms bereits mehrere zehntausende Bäume an teilnehmende Waldbesitzer in Deutschland geliefert hat. Vor...
Baum-Steckbrief: Rotbuche

Baum-Steckbrief: Rotbuche

Achten Sie in den nächsten Monaten auf unsere Baum-Steckbriefe! Diesmal befassen wir uns in unserem zweiten Teil der Serie mit der Rotbuche. Die Rotbuche ist einer der wichtigsten Laubbäume Europas. Sie hat eine große ökologische Bedeutung, da sie die wichtigste...
Baum-Steckbrief: Douglasie

Baum-Steckbrief: Douglasie

In den nächsten Monaten werden wir Informationen über die Baumarten veröffentlichen, die für das Programm Unsere Wälder gestalten – Zukunft schaffen ausgewählt wurden. In unserem ersten Teil dieser Serie widmen wir uns der Douglasie. Die Douglasie ist ein...